How I got a recruitment letter from Google… without even trying

Checking your email can be a very exciting thing – you never know if you’ll suddenly get something from someone cool like a rich Nigerian king who needs you to help spend his money or something from someone boring like a regular friend (haha, just kidding – please e-mail me, people :p).

I was checking my Gmail account for the 100th time today when I was surprised to see a new message. Success! The message was enigmatically titled “Hello from Google”. My first thought was that it was probably some mass e-mail from Google talking about new features or something, but this is what was inside:

from Neha Chaudhary <nehac@google.com>
subject Hello from Google
mailed-by google.com
signed-by google.com

Hello

I am an onsite recruiter with Google’s engineering team. Pius Fischer from Google recently referred your name to me. He mentioned you are a great engineer with a very impressive background. I wanted to confidentially reach out to you and see if you would ever consider opportunities with Google? I recruit for several different types of Engineering positions and would love to discuss some of these with you. Please let me know if this might be something of interest to you and the best time for us to discuss it further. Please feel free to circle back with me even if you are not interested at this time, if nothing else, I would love to connect and just stay in touch.

Thanks,
Neha


Neha Chaudhary
Lead Technical Sourcer
Google/YouTube Staffing
Work – 650 253 2610
nehac@google.com

Wow! I was living what could be so many engineer’s dreams. Little ‘ol CL was getting a personal e-mail from a Google recruiter, and not only that, it was through the good word of another Google employee that… hmm… I didn’t even know. Well maybe I met this Pius guy at a conference or something and he knew that I was a superb engineer through some sort of… telepathy…

The more I looked at the e-mail, the more suspicious I got, and irony of ironies, I “Googled” everything listed in the e-mail to see if it was legitimate. Now that I think about it, it might have been a good idea to use a different search engine, but by that point, I was so sure it was a scam that my indignation got the better of me. And yup… I was able to confirm that I was (briefly) punk’d.  Looks like other people also got similar e-mails from “Neha”; at least the spammer(s) seemed to have taken the website’s criticism to heart; they cleaned up the grammar and used a more legitimate e-mail address (a Google recruitment letter from Hotmail? Come on!). Not that I am considering working at Google now, but it was a fun feeling while it lasted. Ah well, at least I can tell people about the time I got an email from a “Google recruiter”… just that Google didn’t know about it ;)

5 Comments

  1. Tina said,

    August 25, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    i thought you were going to say how cool i was to tell you to collect subway letters for their scrabble game. =(

  2. Regan said,

    August 26, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    I read somewhere, Google isn’t offering free dinners now. So maybe its not worth working there anymore =P

  3. Michael O. said,

    May 27, 2009 at 2:25 am

    Funny story… that email was legitimate. When I was working at YouTube, they had a recruiting drive thing where we’d give them names of talented programmers. I was a new employee, they didn’t have my name registered, so I took the spot of Pius, who recently left the company. I changed the name on my work sheet, but I guess they didn’t update the central database or whatever. I’m sure that message is canned, but it’s from a real person at Google. So congratulations, I guess?

  4. harandi said,

    March 31, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    I’m using it for April’s fool day joke :)

  5. Mahaveer Jain Malugu said,

    April 30, 2012 at 12:11 am

    Hello . . . I agree with ur discussion .


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

